Skip to content

Bernard Hughes: New Old Carols


A set of three brand-new Christmas pieces using well-known carol words

This is a set of three brand-new carols using well-known carol words. ‘Tidings of Comfort and Joy’ quotes from the chorus of ‘God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen’ but is otherwise original: it has a light-hearted, whimsical tone which spells fun. ‘O Star of Wonder’ is a meditative and lush re-setting of ‘We Three Kings’. The longest, and most technically challenging of the set is ‘I Saw Three Ships’, which has a delicious rhythmic unpredictability. This is music for advanced choirs but will prove rewarding for those who take it on. (The three carols are also available to download individually.)


This digital file will be available for a single download for a period of 30 days, beginning immediately after purchase.

If you are buying on behalf of a choir, please order one download per singer. Thank you.


Pages: 28

Released: March 28th, 2022






There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.